Something in nothing

I don’t have much to say.  I am somewhat speechless.  In fact, I think I have said less than 100 words today (electronically transmitted words do not count).
 
Earlier this week I posted yet another quote on Facebook.  This particular quote was by one of my favorite authors, David Foster Wallace.  There is something deep within the pages of DFW’s books, something in-between his chosen (and sometimes made up) words, that I relate to on the most severe and vulnerable level.
 
When I read this particular quote, a feeling of acceptance came over me.  This quote might be the closest thing to my heart, something that poetically sums me up.  This brief linguistic dance of articulately placed words gives me a feeling of belonging.
 
“The persons we young fiction writers and assorted shut-ins study, feel for, feel through most intently are, by virtue of a genius for feigned unself-consciousness, fit to stand people’s gazes. And we, trying desperately to be nonchalant, perspire creepily on the subway.” David Foster Wallace (from E Unibus Pluram)
 
I do not expect or need anyone to submerge themselves to my level of understanding that of DFW; however, it would be nice if I could find someone who is at least willing to not only read this quote, but actually attempt to hear it.
One Response to Something in nothing

  1. kcswift says:

    “assorted shut-ins study, feel for, feel through most intently are, by virtue of a genius for feigned unself-consciousness, fit to stand people’s gazes. And we, trying desperately to be nonchalant, perspire creepily on the subway.”

    I may not be a writer (I struggle to fill a page) or ride a subway, but this quote resonates with a familiar feeling of being a square peg…

Leave a Reply

